Skip to content

Dropbox for Your Files

14/06/2012

Dropbox is a free web 2.0 tool I have just started to use for collaboration with a team and for backing up important materials and pictures online. It also helps to synchronize files between several devices.

I downloaded the Dropbox application to my computer and now I am using a Dropbox folder on my device just as any other folder, except that changes in this folder are reflected online.

For collaboration I shared an online folder with my team and anyone who joined the shared folder now can see it inside their Dropbox and will get all files kept up to date automatically.

Dropbox also allows to share links to folders and to individual files on websites. So any updates in the Dropbox folder take effect everywhere. While writing this I just realize the great potential this feature has: No more additional uploading of files to my class website when I make changes. I have to make use of this in the coming school year.

Google has launched a similar service called Google Drive that soon will replace Google Docs. Anyone has some experiences with both services and wants to share those below?

From → FileSharing, Web 2.0

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

