Skip to content

Building a Website with Google Sites

23/05/2012

Since 2009 I have been using  Google sites  for my class websites.

I usually start my site using a blank template and add one of the themes for a nice touch. For an easy beginning there are also some pre-built templates available. Each newly created site is publicly available on the web unless you choose to make it private.

There are different page types to choose from for creating new pages. I use the webpage type for my home page, the announcement type for what is happening in the most recent class, a file cabinet for all the handouts and a list type for a list of links to more ICT content on the web.

Pages can be edited in an easy to use text editor without any knowledge of HTML and after pressing  the “Save” button a page goes public. Switching to HTML view is only necessary to embed code from other services.

Currently my ICT students are building web sites with Google sites. Using Screenr I produced some short instructional videos for them and embedded those on a Google Sites How To page in my class website. Have a look!

Please share your experiences with Google sites or any other website builder here!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

