Skip to content

Twitter for Personal Learning

25/01/2012

I got to know Twitter and a community of teachers on Twitter by the end of 2009 but only discovered its full benefits for my professional development when I started actively participating. By following other colleagues I learned about new interesting developments in  learning. I started tweeting, re-tweeting, replying,  and building my Twitter network.  By searching for hashtags I followed teacher meets and conferences. The article “Teachers Teaching Teachers, on Twitter: Q and A on ‘Edchats'” in the NY Times education blog also was a real eye opener to me.

So what is Twitter? Here is a short video introduction from commoncraft.com that explains it all.

.

How can you make use of this as a teacher? How can you find the hidden gold nuggets?

Searching tweets is one method to do this.

Another important factor for finding relevant information on Twitter is to follow the right people. Find some good advice about this topic in Richard Bryne’s slide show “Nine Ways to Find Teachers on Twitter”.

Now, start tweeting! You can follow me on Twitter @Rita_Ester.

Leave a Reply

