Skip to content

Searching For the RSS Feed Icon

24/11/2011

After creating this blog I wanted my readers to be able to subscribe to my posts using the RSS icon to have content delivered to their online news reader accounts at Google Reader, My Yahoo!, Net Vibes, Newsgator, Bloglines, etc.

My first step was to use the RSS icon built into my theme. This did not work at all with Google Chrome. So I tried the same with Internet Explorer. That let me discover that news feeds can be collected in your own browser. But I wanted them to go to an online feed reader, not to an individual browser.

So I explored further and discovered that you can add a feed of a blog to your reader by simply adding “/feed” to the URL of the blog you want to follow. This works because most blogging platforms automatically include RSS feeds. But still not quite what I was looking for.

Finally I discovered a possible solution with Google Feed Burner. This online tool allows you to create a feed of your blog and then to publicize it. Just chose your feed burner icon, copy some lines of HTML and paste those into a text widget to be displayed on your blog. That’s it.

Feel free to post a comment if you have another solution!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

