Skip to content

Students as Active Learners

09/11/2011

Today’s post it is not primarily about my journey with web 2.0 tools but about my journey as an ICT teacher in a grade 9/10 classroom. Teaching PowerPoint to students at that age level the traditional way can be quite boring for the students and exhausting for the teacher. So I decided to take a different approach this time. I recently started a project that allows my students to be game developers and to create an interactive PowerPoint game for students in one of the elementary classrooms of our school.

There are lots of similar games available online. My students watched some of those to get inspired and to learn from mistakes. Then they developed their own ideas. While realizing their projects lots of questions about PowerPoint features and how to use them for their own purposes are coming up. I prepared a live binder with instructional materials to find answers but sometimes my students (and I!) need to do further research.

I am pleased to watch that through this project work my students are becoming active learners who love to share their knowledge with others.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

